April 13, 2021, 02:43:24 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - diceman

Pages: [1] 2 3
1
Alternative Play / Re: Another Drafting-Method (maybe good, maybe not so)
« on: November 30, 2013, 10:57:37 PM »
I'm not sure about your suggestion of setting maximum spellpoint limits on each category of spell. That's just not how I build my books.
Ooops, that totally not what I meant.  ;) I was just thinking of a fast way how to calculate Spellpoints and keep track of the total amount left; you know, which cards you're gonna throw out, which one you're gonna keep. I didn't mean to include any arbitrary restriction for Spellbook-Building.

With your other suggestions you're probably right. This method needs some refining, before it'll work.

2
Alternative Play / Another Drafting-Method (maybe good, maybe not so)
« on: November 30, 2013, 07:40:57 AM »
There's another similar Drafting Method already out there, however, with the one I came up with, you won't be passing decks back and forth between players, such being able to monitor which cards your opponent took. Tell me, what you think of it: :)

First, shuffle the Mage-Cards, each Player draws one. Put the others aside without looking at them. Now look at the card you drew: this is the caracter you will be building a Spellbook for. Or, alternatively, if you have two Core-Sets available, each Player may choose his Mage (secretely).

Seperate all the cards into Categories: Creatures, Equipment, Attacks, Enchantments, Incantations, Conjurations. Shuffle each deck. Then work through all the Categories, using the following rules:

1. Deal 10 cards to each player.
2. Each Player chooses 5, then puts the other 5 on a discard pile.
3. If at one point there aren't enough cards on the pile left to deal 10 cards to each player, shuffle the remaining cards with the discard pile.
3. Repeat Steps 1+2 (and 3) for each category, until each player has a certain amount of cards: Creatures (20), Attacks (15),  Equipment (15), Enchantments (25), Incantations (25), Conjurations (20) = 120 cards.

Now build your Spellbook according to the rules, by throwing out cards you don't need/can't use. Best/fastest way to do this, is by counting your maximum Spellpoints for each category seperately, then write them down, then start to calculate.

Haven't had the chance to test this yet, though.  ::)
So chances are, this method may suck (or might be optimized). ;)

3
Frequently Asked Questions / Updated FAQ (November 2013)
« on: November 30, 2013, 04:31:02 AM »
1.) Shouldn't the release of the new FAQs be announced on the main page? After all, this is BIG News. Good Job and Thanks for this, Arcane Wonders-Team! :)
2.) Is it only me, or is the Search Function (STRG+F) within the OfficialFAQ.pdf kinda weird/fubar a.k.a. doesn't really work (no matter if I use it online or browsing the downloaded version)? :o Well, it's no big deal since I'm planning to print this out, anyway, but for a fast access during online discussions it would be nice if it'd actually work like a Search Function is supposed to work.

4
Spells / Re: Teleportation Trap
« on: November 30, 2013, 03:43:03 AM »
Thank you, sir. Seems, like I need to study the FAQ more.
//EDIT: especially now, since it's been updated. Finally, woohoo! 8) I'm gonna print this out.

5
Spells / Teleportation Trap
« on: November 30, 2013, 03:11:36 AM »
I need LoS to the zone I'm targetting, so much is clear. However, the card says, upon revealing Teleportation Trap, that I may choose a zone that's up to 2 zones off. Now is that 2 zones off of my Mage, or 2 zones off from the Trap? And do I need LoS to the zone I'm teleporting the creature to, as well? I couldn't find any additional (hidden) info on the card helping me with this issue, since also the Rules only mention LoS in regards to casting the spell. And Revealing <> Casting.
Thanks! :)

6
Rules Discussion / Re: Battle Fury (retarget?)
« on: November 28, 2013, 10:38:23 AM »
Page 23:
Quote
If later during the attack you discover that your target is no longer legal (for example, it has been Pushed or Teleported out of range), the attack is canceled.

In my opinion this is the only logical, most intuitive interpretation. Game-Mechanics and rules aside, if you just step back for a second and look at the situation: you are STUNNED! How can you make another attack?

And we still have the issue of whether a second Damage Barrier and Counterstrike attack can be made against the attacker. Even Laddinfance has stated he is unsure about this.

I'm not as good with words with you, but this situation is also pretty clear to me. If you look at the rules:
Quote
A damage barrier can attack each attacker once each round. If an attacker makes multiple strikes, the damage barrier only gets to attack once after all the attacks are complete.
I think it's pretty clear: Every creature has exactly 1 chance to make 1 Damage Barrier-Attack against each Attacker. So if it is being attacked again by another creature in the same round, of course the Damage Barrier would strike. But not with the same creature, who's just using BATTLE FURY. Because it's the same attacker. We also have to take in account, that the main reason for the extensive wording on the card was to to make clear, that Melee+1-Traits may not apply more than once during one Attack-Sequence. Everything else is just what we may read into it, to prove our points in a moot discussion.

7
Rules Discussion / Re: Battle Fury (retarget?)
« on: November 28, 2013, 01:17:40 AM »
But if you use BATTLE FURY as a kind of Sweeping Action, you absolutely have to check again, if you can legally attack your new opponent. Look up "Sweeping" in the Codex:

Quote
The second attack occurs at the end of the attack sequence from the first attack. Start a new attack sequence beginning with the Declare Attack Step.

And another attack should just not be possible, if you have been stunned. This totally goes against the propagated "intuitiveness" of the game. So then we could maybe argue, that another strike against the same target would be possible, while switching targets would be illegal (when you've been stunned). Just my 2 cents. ;)

8
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Kumanjaro starter spellbooks
« on: November 27, 2013, 02:42:21 PM »
Thanks!
I was planning to buy the Core Spell Tomes anyway. Concerning the other expansions, though, I'm gonna wait until they've been translated into german. Actually the Pegasus-publisher did a pretty good job on the localization: all the errata'd cards are up to date in the german edition, and some of the extra infos/charts from the FAQ have been included in the rulebook as well.

9
Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Kumanjaro starter spellbooks
« on: November 27, 2013, 10:01:37 AM »
Just wanted to be clear about one thing: assuming that I don't care about keeping all the other Starter-Books intact, will the Core-Set and the Kumanjaro-Expansion be sufficient to build both Pre-Made Spellbooks of the Beastmistress and the Priest? If not, which (and how many) Spell-Tome-Addons will be needed to build them?

10
Rules Discussion / Re: Questions as they come up
« on: November 27, 2013, 03:02:21 AM »
Alright, please forget my nonsensical quoting the "Brogan vs. Hydra"-Example. Seems like I was a little bit DAZED myself (just came home from nightshift).  ;)
And thanks for pointing out the table, what trait modifies which kind of dice. Completely overlooked that as well since now.
In this case, sorry, if I caused any confusion. :)

11
Rules Discussion / Re: Questions as they come up
« on: November 27, 2013, 02:48:33 AM »
Thanks! (Almost) everything like I expected it to work. :)
But I still somewhat disagree on "Aegis" not modifying the Effect-Die - what about the part in the rules (which I cited), where it says you gotta include ANY modifiers? And "Aegis" is clearly a modifier. It doesn't stack, so much is clear, but I don't see, how it shouldn't be included in the final calculation of the Effect-Die's result ...  ??? Citing the Codex doesn't help here, since the -2 on Defence when DAZED also applies on the Effect Die, although it's not quoted in the Codex (see page 30 "Brogan versus the Hydra"-Example).

12
Rules Discussion / Re: Questions as they come up
« on: November 27, 2013, 01:40:40 AM »
Since I don't want to spam new threads for new (probably) minor issues, I'm using this one. So, yesterday I worked through the rules once again, in order to iron out some issues that aren't still clear to me. It would be great of you guys to help me out (once more):  :)




1.) Does "Aegis" modify the Effect Die? I think it should, because on page 24 the rules speak of "any modifiers", not only the +element type:
Quote
Add or subtract all of these modifiers from the number of dice listed in the attack bar. Roll a number of dice equal to the final, modified attack value. If the attack has any possible additional effects listed in the attack bar (always shown as an additional effect box with a d12 icon), also roll the effect die at the same time, and add or subtract any modifiers to that roll.



2.) I may reveal hidden enchantments anywhere in between various steps of the Attack-Phase. But the rules also state, that revealed echantments won't have any impact to events, that took place, before that particular enchantment has been revealed. So, if for example my creature gets attacked and I choose to reveal a card like "Rhino Hide" or "Bull Endurance" on it, right after the dice have been rolled, but before step 4 (Damage and Effects) has been resolved, would those enchantments already modify the result of the attack? So, in other words, I look at the dice, and when I decide that the roll would kill me, I reveal those enchantments to instantly protect myself? Sounds kinda dubious ... ???



3.) The Warlocks "Curseweaving"-Ability: I may rescue a maximum of 1 Curse each round, that would otherwise have been destroyed along with its respective creature. Do I have to decide right away, after discarding the creature, to save that Curse, or may I wait if other Curses get destroyed as well and then, at the end of the round, decide which one I'm gonna save?



4.) The Priestess' "Restore"-Ability. No questions on the mechanic of this one, however, there's one aspect in the rules which made me frown (Page 33):
Quote
She can cast these spells as if the spell cards for them were always in her hand as part of her planned spells each round. Unlike a spell card, it is not “discarded” after it is cast. She can cast them again and again, as often as she is able.
What does that mean, actually? Is she allowed to target multiple creatures by using just one of her actions in one round? Or does the "again and again" refer to several rounds? So if she wanted to remove all conditions (more than 1) on herself AND on another creature (more than 1 condition), she actually needs 2 Full Actions?



Thanks!  :)

13
Rules Discussion / Re: Taunting a Cleric of Asyra
« on: November 25, 2013, 05:10:05 PM »
Hmmm, does he really have to move to make a Melee-Attack? I thought, that Taunt works a bit like Bloodlust, and only applies, when the affected creature is in the same zone as the "Taunter".

From the Rules:
Quote
Taunted creature must make a melee attack against Sosruko during its next action phase, if able, and if Sosruko is in its zone.

//EDIT:
Sorry, big misunderstanding on my part. I don't have the expansion yet, and I only just read up on that specific Taunt-Ability of Thorg. Didn't knew about the Required to Move-part.
Sorry!
:-[

14
General Discussion / Re: Mage Wars: intriguing, but also hard to get into
« on: November 25, 2013, 05:00:52 PM »
Haha, thanks!  :)
I'm already picking up mastery (slowly but surely), and I'm still determined to get to the bottom of things. Teaching a work-collegue MAGE WARS (Apprenctice Variant) actually did a huge job for my level of understanding further core elements. We still did a couple of minor mistakes, though, I completely forgot to tell her about the mechanics of Guarding (which wasn't too bad, because I completely forgot about guarding myself), but we still had some fun, and only had to resort to the Rulebook once, so there wasn't any stalling or downtime. We played our books mostly open for tutorial reasons, so I could explain some special effects better, while deliberately holding back some of my nastier cards in order not to demoralize her too quickly, but in the end I couldn't help winning. But I think she liked it nevertheless, and we'll have another match soon. And on sunday I'm gonna have my first match with a full spellbook (Ready-To-Use Starter Spellbook); I'm pretty stoked (I think I'm gonna try the Warlock). :D

15
Rules Discussion / Re: Magebane
« on: November 25, 2013, 04:41:00 PM »
So, just to get my timing right on this:
When my opponent casts a spell, and I interrupt him directly after Step 1 (Cast Spell) or Step 2 (Counter Spell) and pay the Reveal Cost for "Magebane" on him, would he then take damage after Step 3 (Resolve Spell)? He can't take the spell back, once it's cast, can he? And Magebane only triggers after Step 3 has been resolved, as far as I know.
Thanks! :)

Pages: [1] 2 3