July 25, 2021, 01:57:58 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Rumsey

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
31
Rules Discussion / Re: Counterstrike
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:43:22 PM »
My bad.  Tried to go from memory at work.  You're right.  Hydra A hits Hydra B three times, then Hydra B gets one Counterstrike.

32
Rules Discussion / Re: Counterstrike
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:06:50 PM »
Counterstrike actually creates a whole new Attack with all new Steps of its own, but it doesn't start until the first attack is resolved and done.  If the creature is destroyed, then there is no counterstrike.  Remember that Counterstrike can be used during a Double or Triple strike also, but only against the first attack.  It would occur between the First and Second attacks.  This would remove your Guard counter stopping you from using Counterstrike on the Second and subsequent attacks though.  The Hydra has a Quick Action attack with Counterstrike.  This does not go away after one use and does not set a limit to uses per turn.  As far as I can tell if one Hydra were to attack another Hydra, then they would each resolve an attack against each other three times in a row.  Triplestrike vs Counterstrike.

33
Rules Discussion / Re: Seeking Dispel
« on: October 08, 2012, 10:05:34 AM »
I agree wholeheartedly.  I'm not really sure what the Scenarios were about in the first place.  I thought that Arcanus answered my very first post well enough.  Thanks for chipping in.

34
Strategy and Tactics / Re: Good Priestess Combo
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:32:08 AM »
Would be even better if they made a spell or trait that increased condition rolls.  Tough is the reverse trait but nothing to boost (unless I've totally missed something).  Almost perfect lockdown.

35
Alternative Play / Re: Any official variants to speed up a game?
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:27:10 AM »
Or you could just walk by and randomly kick their table.  Earthquake right?

36
So what exactly were you guys smoking when you thought up the concept for the Decoy artwork?  A trippy looking puffer fish ghost thing?  Must have required a prescription of some kind.

37
Spells / Re: Why Jinx?
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:18:56 AM »
Actually the best reason to use it is so that you can savor that look of stink-eye and scowl that reveals itself on your opponents face.

38
Rules Discussion / Re: Unavoidable and damage type -2
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:13:53 AM »
The Damage Modifier can really be seen as a dice modifier instead because it does not alter the end value that was rolled.  Your friend needs to also understand that armor, incorporeal, etc. also are not "defences".

39
Rules Discussion / Re: Enfeeable
« on: October 08, 2012, 12:41:48 AM »
You have to remember that the quickcast action and the quick.action are two different things. The quickcast action marker (black) can be used during the first quickcast phase, directly before or after you activate a creature (mage included) or during the last quickcast phase. If the mage decides to move and has the quickcast marker still available,  he could use the quickcast marker then move with no following quick action or move with no following quick action but still use the quickcast marker after.  If the mage does not move, then the actions are taken as per normal book standards.

40
Rules Discussion / Re: Seeking Dispel
« on: October 08, 2012, 12:24:45 AM »
Technically you actually can play an enchantment face-up as long as you pay the hidden plus the reveal cost and there is no existing enchantment on the target that can be used during the "counter spell" step.  There isn't anything that can happen between the hidden and reveal as long as it was done immediately.

I invite other players to comment.  This isn't personal although Jon will need my blessing if he wishes to organize gaming at the store.  So, to other players: Am I missing something about Jon's argument?  Am I completely misreading something?  I do enjoy a good debate.  Please hop on in.

P.S. Jon, you're the one that told Tacullu64 that you could have two Mage Wands because they were in different hands.  It was very nice of you to thank him though.

41
Rules Discussion / Re: How does dispelling Magebound enchantments work?
« on: October 07, 2012, 11:47:32 PM »
It doesn't matter.  You have to pay all costs on the card to remove it.  Look at it as the Mage has invested more in it and it should be just as difficult to remove it.

42
Rules Discussion / Re: Enfeeable
« on: October 07, 2012, 11:12:38 PM »
I would say that you are partially right.  If the slowed Mage moved, then they would have no quick action available, however this does not affect the use of the quickcast action (black token).  It could still be used before or after the activation of the Mage.  If the mage does not move then they act as normal.

43
General Questions / Re: Equipment
« on: October 07, 2012, 10:39:18 PM »
I'd say that your opponent does. You cast the spell and subsequently transfer control of it to your opponent who then proceeds to utilize text on the resolved spell.

44
Rules Discussion / Re: Friendly Nullify on opponent creature
« on: October 07, 2012, 10:33:08 PM »
You also have to remember that the opponent is not determined by control of the enchantment but rather the target of the spell that is being used against/on the target.

45
Rules Discussion / Re: Friendly Nullify on opponent creature
« on: October 07, 2012, 10:29:47 PM »
It appears to me that the creature has to be targeted by spells controlled by the opponent of its controller. The creature is the target and the "opponent" must be in opposition to the Hydra.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4