September 30, 2022, 09:59:28 PM

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Donovan

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8
General Discussion / Re: Arcane Duels Changing Personnel
« on: September 08, 2016, 07:46:43 AM »
You should have let Intangible win a couple of times Coshade...  8)

Rules Discussion / Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« on: September 08, 2016, 06:28:58 AM »
Sorry, you are right, sloppy wording - it's not a reroll per se, but it's a do-over of the effect.

But you can roll 0 damage, reveal AF and use it... You can't roll 0 on a burn, reveal AT and use it - it's too late at that point.

Hi Kelanen. You can't use AF to re-roll fire damage. That happens in upkeep and AF only works with attacks.

I agree the cards are not 100% clear. With AT one could say the wording is: "Whenever a burn condition on this creature rolls a zero...". It says "rolls" not "has rolled".

But then again AF says "Once per round if this creature makes a melee or...".

Using the same argumentation one could say the attack has already started.

AF should perhaps say: "Once per round while this creature is in the process of making a melee or...".

Guess Exid is right:

well... it's no problem for me since we know how to play it!


General Discussion / What is the right process to log an idea for OCTGN?
« on: September 08, 2016, 03:57:22 AM »
When you use the deck builder plugin to copy a book to the forum, it would be great when that overview would include a code that you can copy and paste into the deck builder.

Every card - including Mage cards - could get a 2 char ASCI code (a-z,A-Z,0-9). If you avoid the first digit is a number, you can use numbers for the number of cards in the deck and omit the number when only 1 card is present. That way you could address thousands of cards.

The entire book could be represented by a string that way, which you could copy/paste to start working with the book yourself. For example:


Where a1 could be the priestess for example, then 2x card bS, 2x a3, 4x dd, 2x a8, 1x ca etc etc.

What is the right way to request this idea?

Spellbook Design and Construction / Anvil Throne Warlord - allround
« on: September 07, 2016, 06:41:41 PM »
I'd like to have some feedback on this spell book I'm working on. It should allow for quick attacks as well as slow build up.

Also, my goal was to build a Warlord-like book that plays differently than the other mages (I found that very difficult).

[spellbookname]Anvil Throne Warlord - allround[/spellbookname]
[mage]A Anvil Throne Warlord Spellbook[/mage]
[mage]built by the OCTGN SBB[/mage]
[mwcard=FWA04]2 x Hurl Boulder[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFA02]2 x Hurl Rock[/mwcard]
[mwcard=DNA01]1 x Acid Ball[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWJ03]1 x Barracks[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFJ04]1 x Armory[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWJ02]1 x Archer's Watchtower[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFJ05]1 x Construction Yard[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWJ04]1 x Garrison Post[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFJ02]1 x Altar of Carnage[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFJ03]1 x Altar of Domination[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWJ01]1 x Akiro's Hammer[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWJ07]2 x Quicksand[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWW01]2 x Wall of Pikes[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWC04]1 x Goblin Builder[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFC09]1 x Otto Kronig, Master Engineer[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFC06]2 x Goblin Alchemist[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWC03]2 x Goblin Bomber[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWC05]2 x Goblin Grunt[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWC06]3 x Goblin Slinger[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWBG1C04]1 x Slaknir, Goblin Chieftain[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWC07]1 x Grimson Deadeye, Sniper[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWC10]1 x Ludwig Boltstorm[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFC12]1 x Talos[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFE02]2 x Akiro's Favor[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWE06]2 x Fortified Position[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1E32]2 x Regrowth[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWE09]1 x Standard Bearer[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWE04]1 x Force Crush[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ03]1 x Eisenach's Forge Hammer[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ04]1 x General's Signet Ring[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWQ08]1 x Ring of Command[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWA01Q04]1 x Leather Chausses[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ05]2 x Harshforge Plate[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1Q15]1 x Leather Boots[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1Q16]1 x Leather Gloves[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1Q23]1 x Regrowth Belt[/mwcard]
[mwcard=DNQ07]1 x Veteran's Belt[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1Q04]1 x Deflection Bracers[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1Q08]2 x Elemental Wand[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWQ05]2 x Helm of Command[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1Q13]1 x Ivarium Longbow[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1I07]1 x Dissolve[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWA01I01]1 x Crumble[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1I06]1 x Dispel[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWA01I02]1 x Disperse[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1I20]1 x Purify[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWI06]1 x Power Strike[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MW1I19]1 x Piercing Strike[/mwcard]
[mwcard=MWSTX2FFI04]1 x Flank Attack[/mwcard]
[mwcard=FWI08]1 x Sniper Shot[/mwcard]
[cost]Total cost: 120 pts[/cost]

Any feedback?

Rules Discussion / Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« on: September 07, 2016, 01:21:06 PM »
Huh? Adramelech's Touch has nothing to do with a reroll?

With AT you just prevent a burn condition from being removed in the upkeep phase when a 0 is being rolled?

What did you mean exactly?

Rules Discussion / Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« on: September 07, 2016, 09:12:58 AM »
I think it is a very good and clear explanation.

Bear strength would change the roll event. So that's why revealing BS and rolling 2 extra dice is not possible.

AF does not change the last roll. It just prevents its effect on damage and replaces its effect with the results of a new roll.

I see no conflict regarding the rule that revealing enchantments that would change events that already happened. You are changing the effect not the event with AF.

See it as a roll of 6 dice that did 2 damage now gets the effect of a roll of 6 dice that does 7 damage.

Rules Discussion / Re: Akiros Favor VS Temple of the Dawnbreaker
« on: September 07, 2016, 07:25:40 AM »
One could say the effect that AF influences is the damage and effect. So as long as you reveal it before dmg and effect is executed, you can re-roll.

Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Sniper War (Bloodwave Warlord Book)
« on: September 06, 2016, 07:16:20 PM »

Perhaps exchange the [mwcard=MW1Q09] Enchanter's Ring[/mwcard] for an [mwcard=MW1Q08] Elemental Wand[/mwcard] (both 2 points)?

That way you could also replace 1 [mwcard=MWSTX2FFA02] Hurl Rock[/mwcard] for a [mwcard=MW1Q04] Deflection Bracers[/mwcard], which would complement the [mwcard=MW1E17] Force Orb[/mwcard].

Perhaps it would also make sense to replace your [mwcard=MW1E37] Sacred Ground[/mwcard] (4 points!) with 1 [mwcard=FWE06] Fortified Position[/mwcard] and 1 [mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ03] Eisenach's Forge Hammer[/mwcard].

[mwcard=FWE06] Fortified Position[/mwcard] compensates [mwcard=MW1E37] Sacred Ground[/mwcard] somewhat and with the [mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ03] Eisenach's Forge Hammer[/mwcard] you get a mana buff for your equipment.

Now that you have the [mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ03] Eisenach's Forge Hammer[/mwcard], you could also exchange the [mwcard=MWSTX2FFQ06] Morning Star[/mwcard] with a [mwcard=DNQ07] Veteran's Belt[/mwcard].

Spells / Re: Second chance uses.
« on: September 06, 2016, 04:35:52 PM »
Totally agree.

Also interesting with [mwcard=MW1C13] Fellella, Pixie Familiar[/mwcard] in the heat of a fight!

Imagine that: Your opponent rolls badly and is punished ADDITIONALLY by healing his target!  ;D

I'm beginning to think it might be a bit too cheap! 3 mana for a versatile block/heal spell!  ::)

Too bad you can only take 6 with you...  8)

Spells / Re: Second chance uses.
« on: September 06, 2016, 03:36:03 PM »
Divine Reversal really acts as a special +4 armor for critical damage.

With armor +4 and Divine Reversal, you can theoretically survive an average 8 dice attack with no damage...

Strategy and Tactics / Re: Strategy for dealing with Guardian Angels
« on: September 06, 2016, 03:22:26 PM »
Does hiding behind mean in 1 zone? Then [mwcard=MWBG1A04]Sandstorm[/mwcard] could be useful. Especially with an arena wall in their back. That would be 5 dice per angel + good chance on daze. You could perhaps break free the Mage as well by pushing towards you and away from the Angels .

Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Sniper War (Bloodwave Warlord Book)
« on: September 06, 2016, 12:56:53 PM »
4 Earth Elementals is weaker then 1 plus sensible support, and MUCH easier to beat. Donovan - you alone of everyone that's been playing for years with Earth Elementals see them as a problem, when everyone else sees them as weak. As has been said to you in many threads ignore the elemental, and yes, you can and should ignore multiple elementals even more so - you can kill the enemy mage easily before he casts his third, let alone worrying about 4 swinging at you...

You are struggling because of bad strategy, not because of bad cards...

I think if somebody is irritated by questions, perhaps they should better not answer. I think they run the risk of becoming personal and that doesn't help anybody.

You are right that the winning strategy is to go into attack-the-mage mode.

Your remarks come a little bit after that same conclusion was made in the other tread.

Personally I like longer games where you build up a force and then see if you can win over what the other mage built. Even if I'd see a chance to quickly end the game in the first 5-6 rounds, I would not do it, because playing is my first goal - winning comes 2nd. I play against my 10 year old son. I was investigating long-term solutions.

I think it is clear to everybody that it is not going to be a successful strategy if one is going to fight multiple Earth Elementals - each having the same amount of life as a mage. But it was not immediately clear to me that ignoring multiples of them and go on with your normal play is not going to work either.
There were a lot of posts saying "Earth Elementals are weak - ignore them". But that was not the complete solution. The key here is to go into attack mode without casting any creature/conjuration, because the true weakness of the multiple Earth Elemental opening is that the other mage puts tons of mana into long term damage. So if you can turn the same amount of mana into short term damage, then you win.

Still I think the Warlord could use some help to let him play Warlord-Like instead of an Air-Wizard or Earth-Wizard.

But let's not dilute this thread further. This thread is about an elegant opening for Grimson. I like it.

Fan Fiction / Re: An Arena match written in story format
« on: September 06, 2016, 11:11:16 AM »
I liked it too. That is the fun part of Mage Wars. Very imaginative.

Spellbook Design and Construction / Re: Sniper War (Bloodwave Warlord Book)
« on: September 05, 2016, 07:59:54 PM »
Both Warlords: Able to cast their commands before or after their main action (+ same for Gurmash).

I would highly be in favour of that. Especially Gurmash is so lame that he loses his complete action for a battle order.

And those Battle Commands are not that powerful. They become more powerful with lots of soldiers in 1 zone, which is also a liability.

I'd say this only counts for Battle Orders - not for the Command spells Gurmash can also cast. It should be possible to give Battle Orders whenever a Quick Action phase happens, only that the Battle Orders do not consume the Quick Action. And Gurmash should also get these special Battle Order Quick Action capability (initial, before action, after action, final).

They'd have to be paid of course.

Something like: "Creatures that can cast Battle Orders can do this once per round as an additional free action during the initial and final Quick Cast phases and before or after their main action. For example: a Mage can cast Battle Orders before his main action, perform his main action and then end with a final Quick Cast action. Or he could perform both his Battle Orders and his Quick Cast action before his main action."

If this makes them a bit too powerful, you could always increase the mana cost to 2.

Strategy and Tactics / Re: Earth Elemental
« on: September 05, 2016, 03:26:22 PM »
Nice. I was thinking about something like that. Come out aggressively is the only viable way. Ignoring and fighting the EEs is not going to be successful.

Small Problem is likely that you did not prepare that in round 1 and you do not know what is going on till round 3/4.

But will try out and report back!


Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8