November 26, 2020, 09:37:02 am

Author Topic: channeling stack?  (Read 3748 times)

urdarkerend

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
channeling stack?
« on: September 17, 2012, 08:20:52 pm »
do the bonuses from both mana flower and mana crystal stack? just looking for clarification because i believe the rule states that if 2 things give the same bonus you only use the higher one... but i cant seem to find it in the rulebook again  D: help

theduke850

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 08:40:21 pm »
from pg. 11 of the rule book(the side bar called "what is a trait):

"...Sometimes, this strength value has a plus or minus
sign. Multiple traits of the same kind with plus or
minus signs can be combined on the same object.
So, if a creature with Lightning +1 is enchanted
with a spell that gives Lightning -2, those two traits
combine and the creature now has Lightning -1.
If a trait does not have a plus or minus sign, it does
not combine with other traits that have the same
name. Only the trait with the highest value counts.
If the same unicorn was enchanted with a spell that
gave it Regenerate 3, it would only heal 3 damage
every round, not 5."

this would also apply to channeling.

Tllmdjd

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 11:27:20 pm »
Channeling is not a trait.

Mana flower and mana crystal do stack, as do all things which provide increased channeling.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2012, 07:18:21 am »
Even if you had 4 mana flowers in play they would all stack. Same would apply if you had crystals and flowers.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

theduke850

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2012, 07:39:25 am »
Quote from: "Tllmdjd" post=1200
Channeling is not a trait.

Mana flower and mana crystal do stack, as do all things which provide increased channeling.


how is it not a trait?

things like Harmonize and Mana Flower say "controller gains Channeling +1" sounds to me like you are gaining the trait of Channeling and because of the plus/minus rule I sited, they stack.

Tllmdjd

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2012, 08:19:22 am »
This is what I get for reading and posting past my bedtime. I misread you original post, and thought you were arguing that plus channeling did NOT stack. I need to learn to read complete paragraphs.

As for whether or not channeling is a trait...I'm not sure it matters, but channeling is referred to as an attribute in the rule book, not a trait.

In any case, it looks like everyone agrees that plus channeling effects stack.

theduke850

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2012, 09:19:09 am »
ah, you are right, channeling is an attribute.

looking at the codex in the back:

"Channeling
Some objects have a Channeling attribute, which is
how much mana they collect each round during the
Channeling Phase.

Channeling +/- X
Modifies a creature’s Channeling attribute by +/- X. Channeling cannot be
reduced below 0. Modifies only existing Channeling, it has no effect an
object without a Channeling attribute."

not sure why I didn't think to look there at the beginning, I was just reading the rule book online at the trait thing I quoted earlier and jumped on it.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2012, 09:28:15 am »
It np it happens to all of us.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2012, 07:55:25 pm »
Hi Guys,

That is absolutely correct.  They certainly stack.

Officially, Channeling is an Attribute, as is Life, Armor, and Defense.

Effects and spells which increase or decrease an attribute, always stack.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: channeling stack?
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2012, 07:13:24 am »
Always good to hear from the man himself that we are correct.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage