September 21, 2020, 08:41:08 AM

Author Topic: Question regarding order of actions  (Read 1525 times)

tarkin84

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Question regarding order of actions
« on: May 25, 2013, 10:34:12 AM »
Temple of light says it may attack "before or after any friendly creature's Action phase".

The rulebook says that you can take a quickcast "immediately before or after any creature you control takes its Action phase".

So my question is: are both definitions equivalent, ie, can I use QC or temple in the order I want? Or does the word "immediately" obliges me to use first QC then temple?

ĄThanks in advance!
My Mage Wars blog (in Spanish): www.gatetovoltari.blogspot.com

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Question regarding order of actions
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2013, 02:11:42 PM »
You can perform multiple items like this in the order that you choose. Hand of Bim-Shalla is a good example. You can have 3 of them out. Before you active your mage you can have all 3 Hands give you melee +1 then QCA a Bear Strength on to you Mage and then reveal it. Then have him attack with the Staff of Asyra with melee +5....

Hope the example helps here....
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

tarkin84

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Question regarding order of actions
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2013, 03:22:41 PM »
Thank you for your answer!

So I can play all those "free actions" in whatever order I want, including quickcasting between two of those.

I had doubts because of that "immediately" which is present in the quickcast's wording and not in the temples', but now everything is clear.
My Mage Wars blog (in Spanish): www.gatetovoltari.blogspot.com

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Question regarding order of actions
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2013, 05:35:08 PM »
The meaning is "before" or "after" you activate the creature. Activation happens when you take and flip the creatures action marker over and start his/her action. So the wording for both still works in the order that you choose. I have to put ready markers on the Hands or else I forget to activate them....
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Question regarding order of actions
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2013, 08:44:30 PM »
Well done and I alos use ready maker for my temples and hands
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Fentum

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Question regarding order of actions
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2013, 03:36:06 AM »

Yup, ready markers are the one component that I occasionally run out of, what with temples, hands, defences and so on.