May 16, 2022, 11:10:03 PM

Author Topic: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ  (Read 13217 times)

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« on: November 23, 2013, 04:51:14 AM »
Today Deckbuilder suggested that someone collect all of the rulings on the Forums that are not completely covered or clear in the Rulebook and FAQ into a single thread. I thought this was a great idea, and so I have sought out to do just that. I ask that people do not post their questions within this thread. If you do have a question that you can not find the answer to, please create your own topic to ask that question.

If you think a topic should be added to this thread, however, then feel free to let me know either by replying to this thread or sending me a private message. I will try to keep this thing updated, both removing old questions that get answered by official updates and adding new topics that come up.

Defense Rolls
Some enchantments and equipment grant a Defense to a creature. If the card is transfered to another creature, the Defense Marker (or Ready Marker) is left on whichever side it happens to be on.

For Example: You have enchanted your Steelclaw Grizzly with Cobra Reflexes and put it on guard. When your opponent attacks your creature, you decide to use Cobra Reflexes and succeed in avoiding the attack. You then use Shift Enchantment to transfer Cobra Reflexes to your mage. Your mage does successfully receive Cobra Reflexes, however since the Defense was already used this round, it does not provide the mage with any protection until next round.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=281.0

Enchanter's Wardstone
Enchanter's Wardstone does not benefit enchantments until after they have successfully been cast. Thus it does not increase the cost needed to Nullify an Enchantment.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13987.msg35404#msg35404

Mage Abilities
Certain mage abilities are limited to creatures you control in addition to being restricted to friendly creatures. This mostly affects team games to prevent two mages from stacking similar abilities. We do not have a complete list of which abilities are restricted as such, but we know for certain that the Beastmaster's Pet is. From that we can infer that similar abilities share this restriction, including the Priest's Holy Avenger, Warlock's Blood Reaper, Necromancer's Eternal Servant, and Druid's Treebond.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13242.msg25722#msg25722

Magebane
I am a little confused as to whether Magebane causes damage when dispelled or not.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13976.msg34282#msg34282

Mage Training
Mage's are required to reveal their training at the beginning of the game. This mostly affects Wizard's currently, who have to announce their choice of elemental training.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13341.msg27117#msg27117

Reverse Attack
The rules are quite clear that [mwcard=MW1E34]Reverse Attack[/mwcard] only changes the target of the attack for steps 3 and 4 of the attack sequence. This means that you are not the target of your own attack during step 2 and thus can not use any defenses to avoid the attack being redirected back towards you. However, there was a post made by Pixelgeek which contradicts this, saying that you would be required to reveal mandatory defenses like Block or another Reverse Attack. This has caused some confusion and we would like confirmation as to whether Pixelgeek is correct or should we follow the rules as written?

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=6837.msg6857#msg6857

Seedling Pod
Seedling Pods are destroyed during the Cast Spell step as part of the cost of casting the spell they've prepared.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13342.msg35405#msg35405

Stranglevine
The life gain on Stranglevine is not cumulative and does not compound. When calculating how much life Stranglevine currently has, always start at 6 before adding 2X.

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13624.msg29865#msg29865
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 09:39:25 AM by Zuberi »

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 04:53:11 AM »
I know this is not complete or very neat, but it is 6AM here and I have yet to go to bed. Thus I shall come back to it upon waking. Please leave me any suggestions you can think of. I'd love to hear how I could improve upon the look/format and I would GREATLY appreciate help in combing these forums for relevant information.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2013, 04:59:05 AM by Zuberi »

Fentum

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2013, 06:28:06 AM »

I like it.

Who are you?

Where did you come from all of a sudden like that?

 ;)

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2013, 09:08:45 AM »
This is fantastic sir. I can help with a couple points.

Devouring Jelly - No it's corrode effect does not cause it to reconstruct. This is because it is a condition doing damage not the attack. This is no different than a creature who can apply tainted on it's attacks. A Devouring Jelly will only reconstruct if it's attack itself deals damage.

Hydro Immunity - I believe this is addressed. It's been a hectic week here at Arcane Wonders and the FAQ wasn't able to get out. If I had remembered that Bryan had BGG this week then I would have revised my timetable. Sorry guys.

Moonglow

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2013, 03:03:26 PM »
I'm not sure if it's still being maintained, but it would be nice to link in with the unofficial FAQ thread... Maybe...

http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=281.0

I'm not sure if it quite works, but as I commented in another thread, having a codex style list with some cross references would seem useful. A question type approach is quite hard to sort and difficult to quickly review when it gets long. This is obviously easier for some questions i.e the mind control one, than others i.e same enchantment.

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2013, 07:48:45 PM »
Moonglow suggested a "Codex Style" format for this thread rather than a Q&A format, as it would be easier to browse and find what you're looking for. I would like to agree, so I have made an attempt at such. It is even in alphabetical order. I'm sure it could be improved upon though, so if you have suggestions for how to do so, let me know.

I also added several topics from the thread that Moonglow pointed out, however most of the info on that thread, I felt, was already answered in the FAQ and the updated Rulebook.

Quote from: Fentum
Who are you?

Where did you come from all of a sudden like that?

I am a simple hillbilly born in the hills of West Virginia and currently living in North Carolina. I got Mage Wars back in December of 2012 as a holiday gift to myself. It took me a couple of months to get it to the table, and my first few play throughs sparked a couple of questions which these forums promptly answered. Over the course of the year, I have stalked these forums in the hopes of improving my own mastery of the game but I didn't really contribute much back to it. In October though, I decided to pass on a little bit of the info I had picked up by answering a few questions myself, and I earned myself a Banana Sticker. It was a delicious prize, and I decided to seek out more by becoming much more involved with the game I love.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2013, 12:00:10 AM by Zuberi »

Fentum

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2013, 07:30:51 AM »

Quote from: Fentum
Who are you?

Where did you come from all of a sudden like that?

I am a simple hillbilly born in the hills of West Virginia and currently living in North Carolina. I got Mage Wars back in December of 2012 as a holiday gift to myself. It took me a couple of months to get it to the table, and my first few play throughs sparked a couple of questions which these forums promptly answered. Over the course of the year, I have stalked these forums in the hopes of improving my own mastery of the game but I didn't really contribute much back to it. In October though, I decided to pass on a little bit of the info I had picked up by answering a few questions myself, and I earned myself a Banana Sticker. It was a delicious prize, and I decided to seek out more by becoming much more involved with the game I love.

Uh huh. I didn't realise they were edible. Sounds good.

Thanks for your recent plethora of posts. Good stuff in them.

tarkin84

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2013, 11:48:53 AM »
Great job man! This post deserves a sticker ;)
My Mage Wars blog (in Spanish): www.gatetovoltari.blogspot.com

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2013, 04:44:35 PM »
I deleted the topics that were answered in the recent FAQ update. Pretty sure I caught all of them, but let me know if I missed something.

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2013, 06:19:27 PM »
Added the topic of whether flyers can ignore guards when attacking conjurations: http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=12738.msg18450#msg18450

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2013, 06:36:41 AM »
Added an interesting question that I found this morning on Seedling Pods written by Aquestrion: http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13306.msg26496#msg26496

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2013, 03:00:51 PM »
@Zuberi

Thanks again
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2013, 07:39:36 PM »
Recognition from the all powerful Shad0w! ^_^ hurray for warm fuzzies.

Also, I added a current topic of debate regarding Attack Spells: http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13320.msg26510#msg26510

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2013, 09:20:26 PM »
Recognition from the all powerful Shad0w! ^_^ hurray for warm fuzzies.

Also, I added a current topic of debate regarding Attack Spells: http://forum.arcanewonders.com/index.php?topic=13320.msg26510#msg26510

Ahhh, but did he give you a banana sticker earlier?  ;D

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rules not covered in the Rulebook or FAQ
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2013, 11:33:45 PM »
lol, I don't know. I haven't abandoned my quest for stickers, but I've kind of lost track of where they come from.