September 21, 2020, 06:48:18 AM

Author Topic: Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt  (Read 2075 times)

tarkin84

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt
« on: December 20, 2013, 03:07:47 AM »
Demonhide armor grants a barrier of 1 die with the traits Unavoidable and Critical. Veteran's Belt can cause up to 2 critical damage to become normal damage.

How these two equipments interact when opposed?

Thank you in advance!
My Mage Wars blog (in Spanish): www.gatetovoltari.blogspot.com

jacksmack

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1073
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2013, 04:06:15 AM »
The mage with veterans belt get to convert up to 2 critical damage to normal damage when he recieves damage from the damage barrier demon hide grants.
So if the mage with veterans belt has 2 armor he will never recieve damage from Demon Hide's damage barrier.

Unavoidable has nothing to do with Veterans Belt. Thats for defenses.

Kharhaz

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2109
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2013, 09:59:21 AM »
Critical Damage is calculated, and applied, first in the damage equation.

Example. A goblin grunt rolls 3 dice and gets a blank, 1 critical and 2 normal damage.

I take the 1 critical and apply it to the creature. Then I subtract 2 damage from armor (if any) and add apply that number (if positive) to the creature.

At any given point and time, if the damage on a creature equals the life total, it is destroyed. So it is possible to kill a creature / conjuration with critical damage before normal damage is applied. Not terribly important right now, but you never know....

As for your question, the veterans belt does not care the source of the attack only if the damage is critical or not. When you have vet belt equipped, simply take 2 damage from the critical and apply it to the second half of the damage equation as jacksmack said.

Hedge

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2013, 01:30:08 AM »
Critical Damage is calculated, and applied, first in the damage equation.




I don't believe this is correct unless it has been clarified in the FAQ.

Quote
First, add up the value of all critical hits showing on the attack
dice. This damage ignores Armor, so it is applied directly to
the target.
Then, add up the value of all normal hits showing
and subtract the target’s Armor from this total. If the result
is more than zero, the target also suffers that much damage.
Note: Critical damage always affects the target, even if it has
a high Armor value.
Mark the damage on the defender. The Mage records his
damage on the status board, while a creature will use damage
counters (see “Life and Damage” on page 14).

It appears that it is dealt first, but the italics part is only describing that the critical damage ignores Armor. Not that you mark the damage right away.  The first paragraph tells you how to calculate the Damage, be it Critical or regular. The second paragraph tells you to mark the damage, since it does not specific which kind it must mean both at the same time or the total after calculating.  Also in the Brogan vs the Hydra Walk through it shows that the total damage is marked on the creature, not the the critical and then the regular.


Hedge
« Last Edit: December 21, 2013, 01:43:53 AM by Hedge »

tarkin84

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2013, 04:51:32 AM »
Thank you guys. I thought it worked that way, but needed confirmation as we have had some controversy with these two equipments.
My Mage Wars blog (in Spanish): www.gatetovoltari.blogspot.com

Kharhaz

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2109
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Demonhide armor vs Veteran's Belt
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2013, 03:40:41 PM »
Critical Damage is calculated, and applied, first in the damage equation.




I don't believe this is correct unless it has been clarified in the FAQ.


It looks like this step has been cleaned up and rewritten in the latest edition of the rules.

Damage & Effects

"First, add up the value of all normal hits showing on the attack die and subtract the target's Armor from this total. If the result is more than zero, the target receives that much normal damage. Next, add up the value of all the critical hits showing on the attack dice. This is critical damage and it ignores armor. The amount of damage dealt is equal to the sum of the normal damage and the critical damage."