November 29, 2022, 10:14:23 PM

Author Topic: Guard/sleep and hindering clarification  (Read 2806 times)

Rodge

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Guard/sleep and hindering clarification
« on: March 09, 2014, 08:41:28 AM »
Hey all,

Two questions that I'd like answered following the first proper game I had

1. Opponent has a unit on guard from the previous turn.
Defending unit has not taken his action this turn yet.
I start by casting a sleep spell on him.
This should remove his guard token for the turn?
Following this, the priestess uses her ability to remove the sleep condition from the defending unit.
a. The defending unit does not get the guard token returned?
b. does the defending unit still get to take an action phase this turn after being woken up?

2. Previous defender gets hurt.
His zone now has multiple opponents in it, so if he were to leave the square then he would be considered "hindered".
Question is, on moving to a new square - can he still take a quick action (ie guarding)?
Or does hindered in this case mean he can only not move a second zone?


I couldn't find any other questions like these and the rules don't quite explain what happens in both cases.
Apologies if these are obvious in the rules, myself and my girlfriend are still new to the game.

Oh, and 1st post! :)
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Guard/sleep and hindering clarification
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 01:06:37 PM »
1.a) Guard doesnt come back
b) Yes it still can take an action if its action token is not used already.

2. Hindering just prevent to move more than 1 zone. It doesnt prevent any other actions.

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: Guard/sleep and hindering clarification
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 01:09:43 PM »
Welcome to the forum!


1a) No, it does not get the guard marker back.
b) Yes it still gets an action, which could be used to put the guard marker back on if desired. But it would have to use its action to do so.

2) Yes, I believe hindering just restricts movement. The codex states a hindered creature "may only move 1 zone during its Action Phase". It does not say anything about making an attack or guarding after moving the 1 zone, so I would assume it can.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2014, 01:14:03 PM by Lord0fWinter »
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog

kailas

  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 107
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Guard/sleep and hindering clarification
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2014, 01:14:19 PM »
Wildhorn is correct.
A little note to add, Sleep like Stun, Slam gives Incapacitated efffect, which removes guard or Flying (temporary).
Check out the websites additional sources for updated codex, FAQ, errrata:
http://www.arcanewonders.com/resources-and-downloads

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Guard/sleep and hindering clarification
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2014, 01:26:03 PM »
Rodge they are all correct
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Rodge

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Guard/sleep and hindering clarification
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2014, 03:24:27 PM »
Perfect!
Thanks for the answers and prompt replies :)
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid