August 09, 2022, 09:08:35 AM

Author Topic: Rise Again  (Read 2689 times)

V10lentray

  • Member of Arcane Duels
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 749
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Rise Again
« on: April 16, 2014, 11:05:06 AM »
If i cast Rise Again on my opponents creatures, when they die, do I get them?
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2014, 11:15:04 AM »
By 'get them', are you asking if they end up in your discard pile? The rulebook States that it would be placed in the owners pile. The owner is defined as the one who started with it in their spellbook.
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2014, 12:14:00 PM »
When you trigger Rise Again, you summon that creature so it becomes yours if it wasn't already.

V10lentray

  • Member of Arcane Duels
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 749
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2014, 01:04:22 PM »
ok, maybe I should more clearly define what I mean.

If I cast rise again on my opponents creature, when it dies, does it reanimate onto the battlefield under my control.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2014, 01:05:19 PM »
Page 21 of the FAQ clarifies that the mage who controls the reanimate effect is considered to be summoning the creature that is getting reanimated (unless specified otherwise). In the codex we are told that the controller of a spell or object is the person who cast it. Thus, you do gain control of the creature when you reanimate it because you are the one who has cast it.

Now, the ownership of the creature does not change. Your opponent still gets it back when you're through with it. Although if it dies a second time during the game, it is obliterated rather than destroyed, so it does not go into a discard pile again.

V10lentray

  • Member of Arcane Duels
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 749
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2014, 01:40:45 PM »
Ownership was never in question, at least by me, which could have also been my fault do to my original question not being clear.

My intention was clearly about who gained control upon death.

And upon further looking into the supplement, reanimate is defined on p21. I was looking up the individual card "rise again" which was on p46.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2014, 02:15:56 PM »
Indeed. I believe your initial question was misinterpreted as "where do they go if they die a second time after you've reanimated them". Hopefully all of your questions on this topic have been answered now, though.

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: Rise Again
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2014, 04:38:04 PM »
Yeah I misunderstood you, my apologies :)
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog