April 12, 2021, 06:13:46 PM

Author Topic: how many times can you extend a wall?  (Read 2892 times)

lil_drag_n

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
how many times can you extend a wall?
« on: May 14, 2014, 08:17:52 PM »
Can you extend a wall a second time as long as you got the mana and right zone?
Jedi vs that orc guy from L of the R, wow what a mix,... i wonder if AW would consider Dhalsim a mage.

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2014, 08:23:32 PM »
You can only extend one time.

From the Codex "The correct wording is as follows:

When you cast this wall, you may pay an additional cost equal to the mana cost of the wall, plus the wall's Level,
as part of the cost of casting the spell. If you do, when this spell resolves, you may take an additional wall of the
same name out of your spellbook and place it on any zone border connected to the first wall. The second wall
must be placed in LOS as normal.

The new wording clarifies that the second Wall is not an additional spell being cast, and thus does not trigger
effects like Magebane or Gate to Voltari a second time. Since Extendable only triggers once per cast, each
casting of an Extendable wall will place at most two walls."
« Last Edit: May 14, 2014, 08:26:00 PM by Lord0fWinter »
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2014, 08:44:25 PM »
Couldn't have said it better myself.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2014, 01:16:28 AM »
Lord nets a sticker  :P
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2014, 08:43:12 AM »
I wish we could add the "da-da-da-da" from zelda, whenever someone gets a sticker.

Lord0fWinter

  • Warden of the North
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 623
  • Banana Stickers 7
  • www.magewars.weebly.com
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2014, 09:02:27 AM »
Lord nets a sticker  :P

Thank you :D

I wish we could add the "da-da-da-da" from zelda, whenever someone gets a sticker.

That would be awesome lmao
  • Favourite Mage: Darkfenne Necromancer
Visit my Mage Wars blog at www.magewars.weebly.com, also check me out on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/MageWarsBlog and on twitter at @MageWarsBlog

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2014, 01:28:45 PM »
Lord nets a sticker  :P

Thank you :D

I wish we could add the "da-da-da-da" from zelda, whenever someone gets a sticker.

That would be awesome lmao

 ( insert copyrighted tone here. )
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

echephron

  • Player
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 693
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • The finest in mage wear...
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2014, 03:53:16 AM »
you can extend a wall 16 times, because there are 17 places to put a wall on the board. Of course you can only cast 2 walls per action(extend can be used once per action), so it would take at least 8 actions on top of the original wall-casting action.

The wall will be made of different materials, since there arent enough vines, earth, stones, steel, fog, fire, or bones to make a wall that big. If you are asking why it doesn't count as the 17th extension when a wall is destroyed and replaced, to me that is repairing a wall rather than extending it.

I hope I answered your original question.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: how many times can you extend a wall?
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2014, 01:28:13 PM »
you can extend a wall 16 times, because there are 17 places to put a wall on the board. Of course you can only cast 2 walls per action(extend can be used once per action), so it would take at least 8 actions on top of the original wall-casting action.

The wall will be made of different materials, since there arent enough vines, earth, stones, steel, fog, fire, or bones to make a wall that big. If you are asking why it doesn't count as the 17th extension when a wall is destroyed and replaced, to me that is repairing a wall rather than extending it.

I hope I answered your original question.

 ::)
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage