June 29, 2022, 02:10:33 PM

Author Topic: intercept and triplestrike  (Read 2031 times)

echephron

  • Player
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 693
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • The finest in mage wear...
    • View Profile
intercept and triplestrike
« on: March 22, 2015, 05:32:15 PM »
does intercept retarget one attack, or a whole attack action? I'm guessing an intercepting guard only absorbs one attack of a triplestrike.

Intercept:
If this creature is guarding, and if a ranged attack targets a non-flying object in the same zone, this creature may
redirect that ranged attack to itself, as long as it can be a legal target for that attack. The intercept is announced
and occurs immediately after the Declare Attack Step (and before the Avoid Attack Step). It loses its guard marker
at the end of the attack which it intercepts. Cannot intercept a zone attack.

Intercept (Conquest of Kumanjaro)
Restrained and Incapacitated creatures canít use Intercept.
The creature canít use Intercept if it cannot become a legal target for that ranged attack.
Intercept cannot be used on Zone attacks, since Zone attacks donít target objects.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: intercept and triplestrike
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2015, 05:41:53 PM »
Page 25 of the English Rulebook v3, and the Codex for Doublestrike or Triplestrike, states that additional strikes are all made against the same target as the original attack. Therefore, if you intercept the original attack, you have to take all of the additional strikes as well. If you do not intercept the original attack, you can not intercept the other strikes because you would not be a legal target.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2015, 05:45:26 PM by Zuberi »

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: intercept and triplestrike
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2015, 05:47:16 PM »
Basically Intercept changes who the target is for the initial attack, and all subsequent steps are carried out as though that was the target all along.

echephron

  • Player
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 693
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • The finest in mage wear...
    • View Profile
Re: intercept and triplestrike
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2015, 12:11:31 PM »
Aww, it would be funny to visualize a triple strike if 3 different creatures intercepted individual attacks. Thanks for the clarification. if no one else has more to add, I'll assume this is closed.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid