November 27, 2022, 01:55:50 PM

Author Topic: Enchantment on wrong target  (Read 4369 times)

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Enchantment on wrong target
« on: August 24, 2014, 02:26:38 PM »
What happens if someone cast an enchantment on a target that once enchantment is revealed is not legal for the spell?

Kharhaz

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2109
  • Banana Stickers 7
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2014, 03:42:47 PM »
What happens if someone cast an enchantment on a target that once enchantment is revealed is not legal for the spell?

Immediately destroyed if I remember correctly.

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2014, 04:09:24 PM »
Yep.
Quote from: p. 18
When you reveal an enchantment, check to be sure the target listed on the enchantment matches the object it is attached to. If it does not, destroy the enchantment without effect. In some cases, the object may have changed and is no longer a valid target.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Wildhorn

  • Superior artificial brain, feel free to call me Blaine.
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • Mage Wars Quebec
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2014, 04:45:52 PM »
Then, this means druid and warlord have an infinite "Decoy" via Barkskin/Standard Bearer?

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2014, 04:50:33 PM »
Nope. Doing it wrong intentionally would be cheating. Normal targeting rules apply to casting a face down enchantment.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Cnoedel

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2014, 05:31:30 PM »
Well how to prevent someone from cheating?

If the Enchantment would be obliterated, no one would dare "bluffing"
"I close my eyes and seize it
 I clench my fists and beat it
 I light my torch and burn it
 I am the beast I worship..."

DTHGRPSBWR

http://absurdurbannihilist.tumblr.com/
my blog.

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3130
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2014, 07:22:41 PM »

Well how to prevent someone from cheating?

If the Enchantment would be obliterated, no one would dare "bluffing"


Not obliterated. Removed from the game. If there's ever an effect that activates when an enchantment is obliterated, then that could actually incentivize the cheater.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2014, 07:25:39 PM »
You prevent someone from cheating by refusing to play them again or DQing them from the tournament.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3130
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2014, 07:53:08 PM »
You prevent someone from cheating by refusing to play them again or DQing them from the tournament.

Well yes, but sometimes people cheat unintentionally in this game. I think as long as the cheating is penalized so that it sufficiently disadvantages the cheater to cancel out the effects of their cheating, then it's fine. If you cannot sufficiently penalize the cheater to cancel out the effects of the cheating, or if there's strong evidence that they're doing it on purpose (like if they're a repeat offender) then they should be disqualified. That's why I think they usually should remove the enchantment from the game without effect.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2014, 07:55:14 PM by Imaginator »
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

HeatStryke

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2014, 08:49:40 PM »
The rules clearly state you discard the enchantment without effect.

if they did it by accident it's a mistake and the rules remedy it.

if they are doing it on purpose then they are cheating and should be dealt with accordingly.

Cheating is actively breaking rules for an advantage, you really can't accidentally cheat.

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3130
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2014, 11:00:59 PM »

The rules clearly state you discard the enchantment without effect.

if they did it by accident it's a mistake and the rules remedy it.

if they are doing it on purpose then they are cheating and should be dealt with accordingly.

Cheating is actively breaking rules for an advantage, you really can't accidentally cheat.

Perhaps I used the wrong word. Thought it just meant breaking rules, intentional or no. I'll have to look up in dictionary.

I still think it should be removed from game rather than just discarded. Otherwise some jerk might attempt an infinite decoy thing.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2014, 07:34:42 AM »
Cheating implies intent. Breaking a rule on accident is simply a mistake. I agree with Kich on how to handle it. In a private game, politely remind them that their action was not legal and will not be tolerated in the future. In a tournament, report the action to the judge which should result in a warning for the first offense and elimination from the tournament for multiple offenses.

Maverick

  • Ambassador - Twin Cities MN
  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • I got a fever, and the only cure is Mage Wars!
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #12 on: August 25, 2014, 08:54:42 PM »
Barkskin can only target the Druid. Standard Bearer can only target a friendly soldier creature. To intentionally place that enchantment on anything else is blatant and obvious cheating. The moment the opponent tries to put the enchantment back in their book because it is a cantrip you will see what they tried to do. Immediately you should stop playing with this person and if it is a tournament get them Disqualified.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
Easy, guys.. I put my pants on just like the rest of you -- one leg at a time. Except, once my pants are on, I win Mage Wars!

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2014, 01:09:11 AM »
You prevent someone from cheating by refusing to play them again or DQing them from the tournament.

Correct

1st I warn the player. It may have been a simple mistake
2nd is match lose. If it is the same type of illegal action this is now intent
3rd DQ
« Last Edit: August 28, 2014, 01:11:54 AM by Shad0w »
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Enchantment on wrong target
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2014, 01:13:08 AM »
Barkskin can only target the Druid. Standard Bearer can only target a friendly soldier creature. To intentionally place that enchantment on anything else is blatant and obvious cheating. The moment the opponent tries to put the enchantment back in their book because it is a cantrip you will see what they tried to do. Immediately you should stop playing with this person and if it is a tournament get them Disqualified.

This is very different because you can see a clear intent to cheat.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage