August 09, 2022, 08:18:31 AM

Author Topic: Applying conditions  (Read 1817 times)

Dragonsborn

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • Alea iacta est.
    • View Profile
Applying conditions
« on: December 31, 2014, 10:42:42 AM »
Can you only apply a condition on a target if you have damaged this target with your attack, f.e.: when you defend with ring of fire and you do no damage, do the burns still apply?

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Applying conditions
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2014, 11:19:29 AM »
The effect die is not dependent upon the damage dice. You can absolutely cause an effect without doing damage or do damage without causing an effect. By all means, watch them burn.

V10lentray

  • Member of Arcane Duels
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 749
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Applying conditions
« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2014, 11:21:06 AM »
Actions resulting from the effect die are independent of the attack die.

You can completely swing and miss with the attack dice, yet still set your opponent on fire, or stun, or daze, or Sleep....
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid