September 23, 2020, 07:50:40 AM

Author Topic: enchantment transfusion  (Read 6685 times)

Wouter

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
enchantment transfusion
« on: April 01, 2015, 12:39:36 PM »
When you reveal enchantment transfusion, do you need line of sight to shift it to the new target? As long as it is  a legal target offcours

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2015, 02:38:35 PM »
Yes. Page 15 of the Rules Supplement says that targeting requires three things: That the Object be within Line of Sight, be within Range, and meet the specific targeting restrictions of the spell or effect in question.

Now the cool thing with [mwcard=MWSTX1CKE04]Enchantment Transfusion[/mwcard] though is that the enchantment is the thing that needs to be able to target the new creature, so you draw line of sight from it.

Wouter

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2015, 02:39:36 PM »
Owkay, so just to get the working of the card straight and to make no errors in the game:

I have my mage with no enchantments, I have a gargoyl in the same zone as me with a reverse attack and a enchantment transfusion on it (hidden).

My mage becomes the target of a fireball --> step 1: cast spell.
Step 2: counter spel --> I reveal my enchantment transfusion from the gargoyl en shift the reverse attack to my mage
Step 3: resolve spell --> I reverse atack the fireball back to the caster.

Is this a legal working for enchantment transfusion?

sdougla2

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2015, 04:15:48 PM »
Yes, that is a legal way to use Enchantment Transfusion, though the attack will be reversed in the Avoid Attack Step of the attack sequence.
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2015, 04:24:10 PM »
You can reveal [mwcard=MWSTX1CKE04]Enchantment Transfusion[/mwcard] in between any of the casting or combat steps, as long as you reveal it before the Avoid Attack Step, because that is when [mwcard=MW1E34]Reverse Attack[/mwcard] would need to be revealed to send the fireball back at the caster. So, it could go like this:

Step 1: Cast Fireball
Step 2: Counter Spell (Nothing Happens)
Step 3: Resolve Fireball

Step 1: Declare Attack
After Step 1: Reveal Enchantment Transfusion and Move the Reverse Magic
Step 2: Avoid Attack (Reverse Magic gets revealed and sends the fireball attack back at the caster)
Continue Combat Steps...

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2016, 12:00:05 AM »
Yes. Page 15 of the Rules Supplement says that targeting requires three things: That the Object be within Line of Sight, be within Range, and meet the specific targeting restrictions of the spell or effect in question.

Now the cool thing with [mwcard=MWSTX1CKE04]Enchantment Transfusion[/mwcard] though is that the enchantment is the thing that needs to be able to target the new creature, so you draw line of sight from it.

Oh good!  I found the answer to my question without having to post a new thread.

So what you're saying is that a [mwcard=MW1C37]Thunderift Falcon[/mwcard] with [mwcard=MW1E11]Divine Intervention[/mwcard] and [mwcard=MWSTX1CKE04]Enchantment Transfusion[/mwcard] is the perfect nut cracker?  Maybe with a [mwcard=MW1E10]Decoy[/mwcard] to bait out a [mwcard=MW1E29]Nullify[/mwcard] first?  It's expensive, but very hard to defend against a Priestess DI'ing you into her angel death pit.

ringkichard

  • Flightless Funpire
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2564
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Kich, if you prefer.
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2016, 05:04:40 AM »
You're trying to kidnap a turtling mage from behind some walls, using a flying creature and Enchantment Transfusion to gain LoS? Yeah, that works.

My advice is to wait until they try to cast something expensive before teleporting them. Divine Intervention cancels spells (including creatures) if the target or the caster is teleported.
I can take the fun out of anything. It's true; here, look at this spreadsheet.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2016, 05:29:59 AM »
My advice is to wait until they try to cast something expensive before teleporting them. Divine Intervention cancels spells (including creatures) if the target or the caster is teleported.
you mean that if you teleport the caster before the resolution of his spell, the spell is canceled?
where do you read that?

Boocheck

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2108
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2016, 07:35:53 AM »
Yes.

Quote
When a spell resolves, if you find that the target of the spell is no longer a legal target or has moved, even to the same zone, then the spell is cancelled.

Rules version 4 page 13 Bottom Right.


  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
I am one with the force, the force is with me! (Warlord is still my fav mage ;) )

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2016, 09:16:56 AM »
Yes.

Quote
When a spell resolves, if you find that the target of the spell is no longer a legal target or has moved, even to the same zone, then the spell is cancelled.

Rules version 4 page 13 Bottom Right.
that's the target!

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2016, 09:32:33 AM »
It's on page 7 of the supplement. If either the target or the caster moves the spell is lost.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2016, 09:52:40 AM »
It's on page 7 of the supplement. If either the target or the caster moves the spell is lost.
thanks!

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2016, 10:30:18 AM »
Oh, since I didn't mention it, my question was about LOS requirements for Enchantment Transfusion.

Ophidimancer

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2016, 12:18:04 AM »
Hmm .. ran into another question in my game against the husband tonight.  I was on my Beastmaster and he was on his Warlock.  He revealed Enchantment Transfusion to move a stack of three curses to me, the first one (he picked which one since it was his initiative) was Nullified, and then I wanted to reveal an Enchantment Transfusion on my Fellella to move another Nullify to my mage to prevent a second curse, but we ruled that was an interruption of the one action used to move all three curses, so I took two curses.

Did we do that correctly?  Do you count the transfusion of multiple face down enchantments as all one action, or are they separate (and this interruptable by the reveal of another Enchantment Transfusion)?  If they are separate, do they count as being cast on the target, or is moving an enchantment different than casting it?

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: enchantment transfusion
« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2016, 12:30:46 AM »
Hmm .. ran into another question in my game against the husband tonight.  I was on my Beastmaster and he was on his Warlock.  He revealed Enchantment Transfusion to move a stack of three curses to me, the first one (he picked which one since it was his initiative) was Nullified, and then I wanted to reveal an Enchantment Transfusion on my Fellella to move another Nullify to my mage to prevent a second curse, but we ruled that was an interruption of the one action used to move all three curses, so I took two curses.

Did we do that correctly?  Do you count the transfusion of multiple face down enchantments as all one action, or are they separate (and this interruptable by the reveal of another Enchantment Transfusion)?  If they are separate, do they count as being cast on the target, or is moving an enchantment different than casting it?
You can't Nullify Enchantment Transfusion like that. Nullify is triggered during the Counter Spell. When you reveal ET like this it has already been successfully cast. Currently there is not much you can do to avoid ET once it is revealed. Zuberi might have more on this front, but that is what I can come up with this late at night.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest