January 21, 2022, 02:15:52 PM

Author Topic: Mage only spells on different mage  (Read 1870 times)

arxiducs

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Mage only spells on different mage
« on: June 24, 2015, 04:28:12 PM »
Hello out there!
During our last doubles tournament in Caracas, a cunning couple came up with the following concept:
A force master and a beast master were part of the same team. One of their strategies was to carry two copies of Galvitar in the spell book of the forcemaster. When need arose to enter in a melee fight, the Forcemaster or her battleforge ended up casting the second copy of Galvitar in the hands of the Beastmaster. They looked just great!... and terrifying (meat grinder machine-like)! ;)

Just to double check with fellow community members...
Mage class only spells indicate that "Mage Class Only: Some spells are restricted to a specific class of Mage. You may not include these spells in your spellbook unless you are playing that type of Mage."
The target indicated on Galvitar is "mage", not forcemaster.
As a consequence, the treat is perfectly legal and the same goes for harshforge plate, etc. right?
Can you think of any other mythic combo along these lines?
Thanks in advance for your kind feedback...

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1293
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: Mage only spells on different mage
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2015, 04:40:46 PM »
I'm afraid this is illegal, as described in the FAQ (Rules and Codex Supplement) on p. 15.

Quote
Spell Restrictions
Some spells are restricted to a particular Mage or school of training, For example “Beastmaster Only” or “Holy Mage Only”. Unless the Mage is trained in that particular school or is that particular Mage class, then the restriction prevents 3 things:
1) A restricted Mage cannot place that spell in his spellbook when building his spellbook before the game begins.
2) A restricted Mage cannot cast that spell during the course of the game.
3) A restricted Mage cannot take control of that spell during the course of the game.
Examples:
• If the Forcemaster casts Steal Equipment, she can target a Warlock’s Lash of Hellfire, which has the Warlock Only trait. However, since she cannot use this spell, it is destroyed instead.
• Steal Enchantment cannot be used to take control of an enchantment you might otherwise be restricted from. For example, the Wizard cannot take control of a Forcemaster’s Forcefield.
• If the Priestess steals a Mage Wand with a Drain Life (Dark Mage Only) spell bound to it, she cannot cast that spell. She can steal the wand, but the wand would be of no use to her unless she chooses to bind a new spell to it. If she binds a new spell to the Mage Wand, the original bound spell is returned to its owner’s spellbook (the player who owns the spell being returned).
• The Forcemaster cannot cast Mind Control on Huginn, Raven Familiar because it has the Arcane Mage Only trait.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

echephron

  • Player
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 693
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • The finest in mage wear...
    • View Profile
Re: Mage only spells on different mage
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 06:41:54 PM »
If you are looking for a mage which can use a variety of mage-only equipment, I believe there is a custom made mage called the archivist who can do that.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

arxiducs

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Mage only spells on different mage
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2015, 11:44:49 AM »
wow! thanks for your replies! indeed, FAQ is pretty clear about it.