December 06, 2021, 07:44:39 AM

Author Topic: A few questions  (Read 1722 times)

DaveW

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 929
  • Banana Stickers 4
    • View Profile
A few questions
« on: August 28, 2015, 10:31:36 PM »
Here are a few questions from our last set of games this week. We tried to find the answers in the rules at the table, and decided how we would resolve them for the games... but we're looking for confirmation.

1) Does Taint affect living Conjurations?

We presume so, since it is specified that non-living objects have poison immunity (the theory is that all living objects might not have it.)

2) If a Creature is Dazed by a damage barrier while Sweeping against the first target, must the Creature roll to be able to attack the second target? In either case, would the Daze be removed after the Creature finishes the current action this turn, or remain until the end of the creature's next action on the following turn?

We ruled that the Daze causes there to be a roll required for attacking the second target of the Sweep, and that it would remain through the end of the creature's next turn... but we really weren't sure about either.

3) Does Aegis reduce the number of dice that Damage Barriers deal (to a minimum of one die)?

We ruled that it did, since it was an attack

4) Where does an Eternal Servant return to play the following turn if the reanimation cost is paid? I've seen people here say in the same zone where it was destroyed, but we couldn't find it in the rules. We also thought that it could possibly be in the Necromancer's zone.

This didn't happen but we were going to use the zone where it was destroyed if it had.
  • Favourite Mage: Asyra Priestess

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: A few questions
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2015, 02:23:24 AM »
Quote from: DaveW
1) Does Taint affect living Conjurations?

Yes, it does. Conjurations only have poison immunity because they are normally Non-living. Living conjurations lack this immunity and there is nothing in the description of Taint that restricts it to creatures. Therefore, Living Conjurations can be Tainted.

Quote from: DaveW
2) If a Creature is Dazed by a damage barrier while Sweeping against the first target, must the Creature roll to be able to attack the second target? In either case, would the Daze be removed after the Creature finishes the current action this turn, or remain until the end of the creature's next action on the following turn?

The Daze is applied during the Damage and Effects step of the Damage Barrier's attack and affects the creature from that point forward. It would thus have to roll a miss chance when making any further attacks, whether from Sweeping, Battlefury, Counterstrike, or otherwise. The Daze is not removed however until the end of the creature's NEXT action phase, as described on page 9 of the English Rulebook v4.

Quote from: DaveW
3) Does Aegis reduce the number of dice that Damage Barriers deal (to a minimum of one die)?

Yes. As it is described in the Codex, Aegis reduces ALL attacks made against the object, regardless of the source of the attack. It reduces attacks from damage barriers, walls, and even from the creature itself should it wish to hit itself for whatever reason (such as Reverse Attack).

Quote from: DaveW
4) Where does an Eternal Servant return to play the following turn if the reanimation cost is paid? I've seen people here say in the same zone where it was destroyed, but we couldn't find it in the rules. We also thought that it could possibly be in the Necromancer's zone.

As listed on the Necromancer's card, this is a Reanimate effect and follows all of the normal rules for Reanimate. Reading the Codex entry for that trait, "it is moved from the discard pile to the zone it was just destroyed in, and placed face down in that zone, with a face-down action marker on it. This creature is considered temporarily out of play. At the end of the round, the creature card is flipped face up and is Summoned into play."

RomeoXero

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 600
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: A few questions
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2015, 01:06:55 PM »
Holy Crap! That means divine protection makes even better than armor against wall of thorns! Why isn't everyone using this? Divine protection and rhino hide invalidate the whole combo practically. Ive gotta make room for divine protection in so many more books now.

Sorry, that was a bit off topic. I just got excited.
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid
I love this game. Its awesome!

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: A few questions
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2015, 01:24:07 PM »
The simplest rule of thumb is that Aegis 1 = Armor +2.

In reality it is a little more complicated than that. Armor +2 is actually significantly better if the creature doesn't have any armor at all currently. Due to the diminishing returns on armor though, Armor +2 is only slightly better than Aegis 1 if the creature already has 1 armor on it, and Aegis 1 becomes better if the creature already has 2+ armor on it.

You can also combo Armor with Veteran's Belt which allows it to outshine Aegis for even longer than that. Piercing +X is also less common than Melee +X, making it harder to counteract Armor +2 than it is to counteract Aegis 1. These kind of things are why Aegis is seen less often, but it's not a bad play. Just make sure you have a little armor first already.