January 24, 2022, 10:38:02 PM

Author Topic: another about 0  (Read 2295 times)

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
another about 0
« on: May 09, 2016, 10:29:20 AM »
when an object with arcan ward on it is targeted, i must reveal arcan ward but i can decide not to pay the reveal cost...
how does this rule goes for a 0 cost? can i decide not to pay 0?

iNano78

  • Ambassador
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1294
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • Playing at the Royal Canadian Legion in Ottawa
    • View Profile
    • Ottawa/Gatineau Mage Wars (FB group)
Re: another about 0
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 10:40:37 AM »
I would go with "yes" in the spirit of the rules - e.g. the controller of a "mandatory reveal" enchantment (with red reveal cost) isn't forced to resolve it.  Normally that simply means "if you can't or choose not to pay the reveal cost, it gets destroyed and has no effect."  I see that one might argue that a "mandatory reveal" enchantment with reveal cost of 0 is "automatically paid" but I think someone who argues that it's effect must get resolved is standing on weak ground.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: another about 0
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 11:15:12 AM »
in the spirit of the rule, it would be yes.
mathematically, seeing 0 as a positive number, it would be yes.
but recently, i was explained 0 is no positive number... so...

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: another about 0
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2016, 12:17:25 PM »
It has a reveal cost. Regardless of the value you can decide to not pay for it. Zero having a positive or negative value has no impact on this.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: another about 0
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2016, 12:19:38 PM »
thanks!

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: another about 0
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2016, 01:07:01 PM »
No problem. :)

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: another about 0
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2016, 01:14:17 PM »
In the rules supplement it gives steps for revealing an enchantment. Step three is to pay costs. Rather than worrying about the value of zero, you can think of this rule as saying that step is optional and opting to skip the pay costs step results in the spell being discarded without effect, regardless of the cost or lack thereof. You are choosing to not do this step before the game even looks at the cost, because that step is where it would have looked at it.

exid

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 867
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
Re: another about 0
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2016, 01:26:31 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D
i was surprised you didn't answer earlier to such a question!

nice catch the steps for revealing enchantments.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2016, 01:28:02 PM by Exid »