November 29, 2022, 11:11:43 PM

Author Topic: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx  (Read 2952 times)

jhaelen

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« on: June 20, 2016, 03:11:04 AM »
After looking a bit closer into the 'Weighted Training Clothes' spellbook, I've been wondering about this:
Doesn't triggering Jinx prevent a mana token from being placed on the Gate?
The test on Gate says '... casts and resolves ...'

So, what about a spell being canceled by 'Jinx'? Is it still considered to have been cast?
I'm quite sure it's not 'resolved' - so no token for the Gate, right?

Halewijn

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1788
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2016, 03:48:51 AM »
You are correct. Since the spell does not resolve when it's jinxed, the gate does not channel a mana.

  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
When in doubt kill it with fire? I never doubt and crush them right away.

Laddinfance

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 4646
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2016, 08:35:10 AM »
Halewijn is correct.

Boocheck

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2108
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2016, 01:18:12 PM »
Laddifance is correct.

;D )
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
I am one with the force, the force is with me! (Warlord is still my fav mage ;) )

jhaelen

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2016, 02:00:57 AM »
Thanks for the triple confirmation!  ;)

While it doesn't matter in this context, I'd also like an answer to the question if a spell is considered 'cast' when it's been jinxed?

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1547
  • Banana Stickers 8
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2016, 08:17:04 AM »
The short answer is "No".

Because it doesn't make it to the resolve step it is not considered to have taken effect and has not been successfully cast.  Therefore you will not take damage from Magebane nor will you get any effects triggered upon casting a spell--such as Priestess life gain on Holy incantation.
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

jhaelen

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Gate to Voltari vs. Jinx
« Reply #6 on: June 23, 2016, 02:16:53 AM »