July 25, 2021, 04:56:37 PM

Author Topic: Not sure if I'm counting this right  (Read 3505 times)

Arton12

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Not sure if I'm counting this right
« on: November 23, 2016, 04:06:09 PM »
I just got the core set AND the Priestess expansion yesterday. Keep in mind that I am brand new to this game.

That being said, when I was examining the Priestess's recommended spellbook (from the instructions in the expansion box) I counted 42 spell points.

I counted and re-counted. Am I missing something ?

Thanks

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2016, 11:31:50 PM »
I don't have the Academy Priestess recommended spellbook list in front of me, so I can't double check your numbers, but a common mistake is not counting Novice cards properly. Remember that any Novice spells only cost you 1 spell point regardless of training.

Sailor Vulcan

  • Secret Identity: Imaginator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 3130
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2016, 08:57:02 AM »
I don't have the Academy Priestess recommended spellbook list in front of me, so I can't double check your numbers, but a common mistake is not counting Novice cards properly. Remember that any Novice spells only cost you 1 spell point regardless of training.

Not always, zuberi. The academy priestess pays triple for dark spells even when they're novice. That being said, I highly doubt there are any dark spells in the priestess' starter spellbook list.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
I am Sailor Vulcan! Champion of justice and reason! And yes, I am already aware my uniform is considered flashy, unprofessional, and borderline sexually provocative for my species by most intelligent lifeforms. I did not choose this outfit. Shut up.

Arton12

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2016, 01:56:32 PM »
I don't have the Academy Priestess recommended spellbook list in front of me, so I can't double check your numbers, but a common mistake is not counting Novice cards properly. Remember that any Novice spells only cost you 1 spell point regardless of training.

I double- and triple-checked that none of the level 2 or higher cards were Novice cards. They are not. I'm still counting 42 spell points.

I'm sure I'm wrong but...

Halewijn

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1788
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2016, 12:20:12 AM »
Took a look. I have 40:

Equipment: 2 (1+1)
Creatures: 18 (4+3+2+1+2+2+4)
Enchantments: 7 (1+2+2+2)
incantations: 12 (4+1+4+2+1)
attack: 1

Total: 2+18+7+12+1 = 40
« Last Edit: November 25, 2016, 12:26:25 AM by Halewijn »
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
When in doubt kill it with fire? I never doubt and crush them right away.

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2016, 05:06:09 PM »
I don't have the Academy Priestess recommended spellbook list in front of me, so I can't double check your numbers, but a common mistake is not counting Novice cards properly. Remember that any Novice spells only cost you 1 spell point regardless of training.

I double- and triple-checked that none of the level 2 or higher cards were Novice cards. They are not. I'm still counting 42 spell points.

I'm sure I'm wrong but...

Did you double check the level 1 cards?

Arton12

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2016, 06:48:27 PM »
Took a look. I have 40:

Equipment: 2 (1+1)
Creatures: 18 (4+3+2+1+2+2+4)
Enchantments: 7 (1+2+2+2)
incantations: 12 (4+1+4+2+1)
attack: 1

Total: 2+18+7+12+1 = 40

Asyran Robes x 1 (lvl 1 Holy) = 1 SP
Faith Healer's Staff x 1 (lvl 1 Holy) = 1 SP
Broken Wing Angel x 2 (lvl 2 Holy) = 4 SP
Ehren, Paladin x 1 (lvl 3 Holy) = 3 SP
Gloranna, Angel x 1 (lvl 2 Holy) = 2 SP
Meditating Monk x 1 (lvl 1 Holy + 1 Mind) = 1 + 2 SP  (double cost for Mind)
Temple Sentry x 2 (lvl 1 Holy) = 2 SP
Temple Sharpshooter x 1 (lvl 2 Holy) = 2 SP
White Cloak Knight x 2 (lvl 2 Holy) = 4 SP
Asyra's Touch x 1 (lvl 1 Holy) = 1 SP
Circle of Protection x 1 (lvl 2 Holy) = 2 SP
Gator Toughness x 1 (lvl 1 Nature) = 2 SP  (double for Nature)
Slumber x 1 (lvl 1 Mind) = 2 SP  (double for Mind)
Crumble x 2 (lvl 1 Water) = 4 SP  (double for Water)
Cure x 1 (lvl 1 Holy) = 1 SP
Disperse x 2 (lvl 1 Arcane) = 4 SP  (double for Arcane)
Mend x 2 (lvl 1 Holy) = 2 SP
Reveal Magic x 1 (lvl 1 Holy) = 1 SP
Dazzle x 1 (lvl 1 Holy) = 1 SP

TOTAL = 42 SP

Where did I go wrong?

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2016, 07:24:58 PM »
Meditating monk is holy 1 OR mind 1. It does not count as out of school for a total of 3, but only 1 sbp
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Arton12

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2016, 08:05:25 AM »
So I'm reading this paragraph from the Rulebook wrong then:

"Some spells belong to multiple schools. For
example, the Lightning Raptor is Level 1 Arcane +
Level 1 Air. The Wizard will pay 2 spellpoints for
this spell because he is trained in both schools.
If he was trained only in Arcane, but not in Air
magic, the spell would cost him 3 spellpoints.
The Beastmaster, who is not trained in either
school, pays 4 spellpoints for a Lightning Raptor. "

From what I can gather, the Priestess would have to pay 3 SP for the Monk, 1 for Level 1 Holy and 2 for Level 1 Mind.

?????
« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 08:17:23 AM by Arton12 »

Halewijn

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1788
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2016, 08:10:05 AM »
No, it depends

[mwcard=MWBG1J04]Raincloud[/mwcard] has the &-symbol between the schools. This spell is a mixture of multiple types of schools. In this case the Wizard would pay 3 spellbookpoints for it. (1+2)


[mwcard=MW1Q08]Elemental Wand[/mwcard] and the monk have "OR" between the schools. This spell can be summoned using one or the other kind of magic but it doesn't require the caster to know both.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
When in doubt kill it with fire? I never doubt and crush them right away.

Arton12

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Not sure if I'm counting this right
« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2016, 08:25:49 AM »
OMG! That "OR" is written right there on the card. Wow, I knew I was missing someting.

Gotta say though, the "&" is much clearer than the "OR" which I missed completely.

Finally, light has been shed on this for me.

Thank you all for your help. I can now play the Priestess with a clear conscience knowing she has a legal spellbook!

 :)