January 24, 2021, 04:55:20 pm

Author Topic: Confusion with Corrode  (Read 2635 times)

Maverick

  • Ambassador - Twin Cities MN
  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • I got a fever, and the only cure is Mage Wars!
    • View Profile
Confusion with Corrode
« on: September 16, 2014, 06:38:39 pm »
I know corrode is attached to the mage and not the equipment. However I also know that if the mage reduces his armor value (Dispel rhino hide or equip another suit of armor) the corrode tokens fall off.

So if I have leather boots, leather gloves, and bearskin armor with 2 corrodes but swap out a leather gloves for another pair of leather gloves does a corrode fall off? Or do I need to reduce the mages armor value below the quantity of corrode tokens to discard any of them?

I am leaning towards the second option but want someone who fancies themselves as rules savvy to clarify for me.
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
Easy, guys.. I put my pants on just like the rest of you -- one leg at a time. Except, once my pants are on, I win Mage Wars!

echephron

  • Player
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 693
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • The finest in mage wear...
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 06:59:41 pm »
second option.

Corrode tokens only remove themselves to bring your net armor value back up to zero. you also dont receive damage from their being removed in this manner.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2014, 07:03:57 pm by echephron »
  • Favourite Mage: Wychwood Druid

sdougla2

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
  • Banana Stickers 19
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2014, 07:02:39 pm »
The corrode markers will not fall off. They only fall off if the creature's armor drops below zero. So for example, if you have Leather Gloves, Leather Boots, and Dragonscale Hauberk on your mage, and you have 3 corrode conditions, if you replace your Dragonscale Hauberk with another chest piece that gives armor +2, one of the corrode conditions would fall off because for the brief instant while you didn't have a chest piece, your armor dropped to -1.
  • Favourite Mage: Straywood Beastmaster

Maverick

  • Ambassador - Twin Cities MN
  • Playtester
  • Full Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Banana Stickers 0
  • I got a fever, and the only cure is Mage Wars!
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2014, 07:06:37 pm »
Sweet so I was right! Thanks for the input!  ;D
  • Favourite Mage: Bloodwave Warlord
Easy, guys.. I put my pants on just like the rest of you -- one leg at a time. Except, once my pants are on, I win Mage Wars!

Silverhaze

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2017, 03:47:53 pm »
If you replace an armor item, does it go back tot your hand or discard pile?

Reddicediaries

  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1097
  • Banana Stickers 1
  • Out of the ashes, a new power will rise.
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2017, 04:05:43 pm »
your hand
The Phoenix shall rise.

Silverhaze

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2017, 06:13:11 am »
Is this the same for elemental wand, mage wand ? If you change bound spell, it goes back to the hand?

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1917
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2017, 07:51:50 am »
Yes. Replacing any bound spell will not discard the bound spell. Technically it goes into your book.
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Beldin

  • The Craziest
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 741
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2017, 11:24:59 am »
Yes. Replacing any bound spell will not discard the bound spell. Technically it goes into your book.

No technically, it does. Page 20 of the core rulebook.

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1917
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Confusion with Corrode
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2017, 03:51:16 pm »
Yes. Replacing any bound spell will not discard the bound spell. Technically it goes into your book.

No technically, it does. Page 20 of the core rulebook.

So we agree? I said Technically (as in according to rules) and you said no, technically it's by the rules? Sorry just feeling some tension there and not sure if I missed something my comment.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2017, 04:01:05 pm by Coshade »
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest