June 29, 2022, 02:30:07 PM

Author Topic: Timing Question  (Read 2100 times)

Milevan_Faent

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Timing Question
« on: April 08, 2017, 07:12:44 PM »
What is the timing for Defenses and Mandatory Enchants? For example: Block, Forcemaster, and Forcefield. If I have Block on my Forcemaster, and his Defense goes off successfully, do I still need to reveal Block? Likewise, if I have a Forcefield up, since it says it happens before Avoid Attack, does that mean I don't have to use Block?

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1547
  • Banana Stickers 8
    • View Profile
Re: Timing Question
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 07:20:21 PM »
Forcefield cancels the attack before the avoid attack step and you would not be able to reveal a defense.

Both Block and Deflect are defenses. You cannot use both on the same attack. If the attack reaches the "Avoid Attack step",  Block must be revealed. In this case it is always superior to use the revealed block over the optional Deflect (unless you have only 1 mana)
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Milevan_Faent

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Timing Question
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2017, 09:56:01 PM »
And what happens if you don't have enough mana to pay for the mandatory reveal?

Puddnhead

  • Member of Arcane Duels; MageCast Co-host
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1547
  • Banana Stickers 8
    • View Profile
Re: Timing Question
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2017, 10:51:27 PM »
And what happens if you don't have enough mana to pay for the mandatory reveal?

The spell must be revealed because the trigger occured, but you do not get its effect.  So, make sure you have the mana :)
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster

Zuberi

  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: Timing Question
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2017, 12:41:40 AM »
With any enchantment, you always have to option of revealing it without paying for it. If you do so, the spell fizzles and is discarded without effect. With spells like Block, revealing it is mandatory but paying for it is not. So, when you reveal, you have the option of paying to get it's effect or letting it fizzle. If you don't have the mana to pay for it, you have to let it fizzle. Also, if you've already used a Defense on this attack, you can not use another Defense, so you wouldn't be able to get the effect of Block even if you paid for it.

(Note the limitation is one Defense per attack, not per attack action)

Coshade

  • Arcane Duels Host
  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1938
  • Banana Stickers 6
    • View Profile
    • Arcane Duels!
Re: Timing Question
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2017, 10:21:03 AM »
A banana sticker for puddn today. Nicely done
Also Zuberi's explanation is spot on
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest