December 02, 2020, 06:35:52 am

Author Topic: rise again  (Read 1055 times)


  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 866
  • Banana Stickers 4
  • The longer the better!
    • View Profile
rise again
« on: January 05, 2018, 08:56:46 am »
just to be sure:

1) RA must be revealed when the creature is destroyed to be used.

2) Araxian Crown Warlock can take RA back with curseweaving after using it

3) if unrevealed, RA can't be taken back with curseweaving, since a hidden enchatment has no subtype.



  • Ambassador
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 595
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: rise again
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2018, 09:15:37 am »
I believe ypu can reveal before dmg and effects, like rhino hide.
1. Before the creature is destroyed
2. Yes
3. Correct
  • Favourite Mage: Salenia Forcemaster
Instagram and Facebook - @pistillidesigns


  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: rise again
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2018, 05:12:33 am »
I think you can reveal Rise Against whenever you want. It doesn't say on the card "reveal when xxx" so the normal rules should apply, and the regular rules for revealing an enchantment say that you can reveal it between each step of each phase.
So you could trigger the female Warlock's ability and give a creature +1 fire because it is a revealed curse.


  • Rules Guru
  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2504
  • Banana Stickers 57
    • View Profile
Re: rise again
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2018, 05:36:18 am »
Drmambo23's answers are all 100% correct. If you read closely, you'll notice they don't say that it has to be revealed in response to any trigger, just that it has to be revealed before the creature is destroyed, e.g. before the damage and effects step, in order to actually function.

You certainly could reveal sooner than that if you wanted. But between the roll dice step and the damage and effects step is the absolute latest possible, because as soon as the damage is applied, the creature and the unrevealed enchantment both get destroyed, and an unrevealed enchantment has no effects.

On its own, you probably want to wait as long as possible before revealing. But you are absolutely right that other effects, like the Adramelech Warlock's Flame +1 ability, might give you a good reason for revealing sooner.