May 16, 2021, 11:09:04 PM

Author Topic: Tanglevine question.  (Read 3582 times)

Klaxas

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1092
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Tanglevine question.
« on: August 22, 2012, 03:59:41 AM »
this came up in one of our games.

teleport and tanglevine are spicificly mentioned in the rules, the creature teleports out of the tanglevine and the conjuration is destroyed.

but what about a push?

the creature is restrained, which means it can be pushed.  but the conjuration cannot because it is immoble.  so does this also destroy the tanglevine?  or does the tanglevine move with the attached creature?
Favorite Mage: The one I am using.

stadi

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Tanglevine question.
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2012, 07:35:18 AM »
Thematically I'd say they do not move. Tanglevine has deep roots and holds strong onto the creature. Also waiting for the official answer.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Tanglevine question.
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2012, 08:11:45 AM »
Teleport does not move an object per-say it places it in a new location.
The way I read it is if conjuration (object) is immobile it can not be moved. This would include force push. Lets see if the rules team agrees.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

patrickconnor

  • Guest
Re: Tanglevine question.
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2012, 09:31:37 AM »
Rulebook p. 43

Restrained
If a creature is Restrained, it cannot take any move actions. It can still be
Pushed or Teleported.

Tanglevine gives the creature the Restrained trait. Therefore, the creature can be Pushed or Teleported, but as with all Conjurations, the Tanglevine is Unmovable and ignores all Push effects.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Tanglevine question.
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2012, 10:09:28 AM »
Thanks again for the prompt response.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

1unatic

  • Guest
Re: Tanglevine question.
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2012, 01:29:39 PM »
Patrick is correct on how these traits and mechanics interact with one another.

Unfortunately, there was a misprint on Tanglevine - it is supposed to give the targeted creature the Unmovable trait as well.  This text was present on all previous print runs and throughout playtesting, but somehow missed the final prints.  Therefore, the creature cannot be Pushed out of Tanglevine's grasp.  Sorry for the confusion, I am going to post an erratum for this.

Unlike a Push, Teleporting can affect Unmovable creatures.

Klaxas

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 1092
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Tanglevine question.
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2012, 10:52:35 PM »
ok so tanglevine = unmoveable thanks much
Favorite Mage: The one I am using.