May 16, 2021, 10:47:12 PM

Author Topic: Action Phase question  (Read 2139 times)

eatmyjustice

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Action Phase question
« on: August 25, 2012, 09:40:36 AM »
Page 15 of the rulebook states that you can do one of two things after you've chosen your creature to act with.

Quote
1. Take a move action first, and then take a quick action; or
2. Stay in the same zone and take a full action.
The move action is optional. You can choose not to move and still take a quick action. However, if you want to move the creature, you must complete the move action before you take a quick action.


What are some of the design decisions around option 1 of this rule?
\"Arthur, that belt is a fashion accessory of evil, and evil is never in fashion.\" - The Tick

Mestrahd

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 0
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Action Phase question
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2012, 01:40:48 PM »
I don't want to speak for the designers, but I can say what I see of it. It prevents you from doing two quick actions, so no double attacks or quick spells in a row. It also prevents a quick attack then guard, or a quick attack then move. I think making the move first and optional-mandatory is actually pretty clever to limit your choices.

thuzl

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Action Phase question
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 10:03:43 PM »
I think Mestrahd's been eavesdropping on our design meetings.   :dry:

His explanation is spot on.