May 16, 2021, 10:14:39 PM

Author Topic: Spell level  (Read 2438 times)


  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Banana Stickers 5
    • View Profile
Spell level
« on: August 27, 2012, 09:06:16 AM »
I can not find definite answer in rulebook.

If there is spell with levels in two or more different schools (with & symbol not with OR), is it's level sum of all levels?

It is for gameplay purpose (dispells etc.) - rules are clear about deckbuilding.
"I've seen this spell before - sold in alleys, brothels, and taverns. Men want more life. Always, they want more life."
- Rae Ashar, Wench of the Flying Dragon


  • Elder
  • Jr. Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 59
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Spell level
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 10:36:27 AM »
It depends.  If the level has "or," you only pay one of the levels listed.  If it says "and," then you pay the total.

It is in the Rulebook on page 35 under Training:

Some spells belong to more than one school of magic. Spells which belong to multiple schools with an “OR” symbol joining the schools allow you to choose which school you must use for that spell. Their spell Level is the Level listed for any of those schools. For example, the Elemental Wand spell is a Level 2 spell, and is either Earth, Water, Air, or Fire. So, a Warlock can treat it as a Fire spell and add it to his spellbook for just 2 spell points, since he is trained in Fire magic.  Some spells belong to several schools and have an “&” symbol joining the schools. For these spells, you must pay the cost for all the schools. The Level for these spells is the sum of all the Levels for each school listed. For example; Adramelech is both a Level 2 Fire spell and a Level 4 Dark spell. Therefore, Adramelech is a Level 6 spell (2 Fire + 4 Dark). The Wizard, who trained in  Fire magic, but not Dark magic, would have to pay a total of 10 spell points to add this demon to his spellbook [(4 X 2) Dark + (2) Fire]. The Warlock, who trained in both  Dark and Fire schools, would only pay 6 spell points.