January 21, 2022, 02:21:11 PM

Author Topic: Invisible and Shift Enchantment  (Read 4755 times)

halvor

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« on: February 25, 2013, 02:31:33 PM »
I was reading through the rules of invisibility and if an enchantment is put on a invisible creature (when visible), can that enchantment be later removed when the creature is invisible?.  In other words, are enchantments on invisible creatures target able?

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2013, 11:01:02 AM »
Depends on the target line of the spell
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

halvor

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2013, 12:05:46 PM »
Thanks Shadow. So since there is no LOS to creature, there is no line of sight to enchantment. That clarifies things.

Koy

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2013, 04:50:13 PM »
Is that what he meant?  I took his answer to mean if the target line of the spell card is valid for the intended target, it's a valid cast.  Take hidden enchantments, for example.  You can still dispell them without "seeing" them.  Maybe a mage can detect the pattern and dispell that type of magic even if it's on an invis creature?

Of course, maybe he did mean his answer to be target line "of sight" and I'm a crazy person.

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2013, 10:31:18 PM »
Lets make it simple.

If the spell targets the creature and the enchant - the stalker must been seen
If the spell targets the creature - the stalker must been seen
If the spell targets the enchant - the stalker DOES NOT need to be seen
If the spell targets the zone or arena- the stalker DOES NOT need to be seen

Hope that helps.  :P
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

halvor

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2013, 09:29:10 AM »
Wow so if a curse was thrown on my stalker, then I can dispel it without see the stalker?

That is kind of a shame. It does not really make sense either. How can a mage dispel an enchantment from a creature it does not even know is there?

I really think it should be:

If the spell targets the creature and the enchant - the stalker must been seen
If the spell targets the creature - the stalker must been seen
If the spell targets the enchant - the stalker  must been seen
If the spell targets the zone or arena- the stalker DOES NOT need to be seen, of course

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2013, 11:00:36 AM »
Enchants are magic energy that is gathered in a location. It is represented by a card. Just because you cant see the creature does not imply you can not detect this energy.
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

Koy

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2013, 11:26:18 AM »
Makes sense to me Shad0w.  I mean, the same principle applies to the Stalker itself, or even hidden enchants (which literally are hidden).  Both mages are fully aware of where they are at any given time, though they are unable to actually "see" it.  Perceptive bunch, those mages.   ;)

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2013, 01:53:07 PM »
So you are saying that the Mages can sense a disturbance in the Force?  :blink:
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

Koy

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2013, 02:17:04 PM »
There's a Forcemaster pun you are trying to trick me into making.  It won't work.  I'm on to you, sIKE!

Shad0w

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 2934
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2013, 03:18:28 PM »
"Darth come prove to meet you are worthy of the fighting for your school in the arena and not just another scholar to be discarded like an worn out rag doll"


Quote: Shad0w the Arcmage

halvor

  • Jr. Mage
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: Invisible and Shift Enchantment
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2013, 05:01:24 PM »
As long as you leave Midi-chlorians out of it we are ok.