April 13, 2021, 03:10:13 PM

Author Topic: do attacks using dancing scimitars  (Read 6298 times)

FrostWolf1023

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
do attacks using dancing scimitars
« on: March 04, 2013, 05:57:35 AM »
do attacks using the scimitars activate the damage shield?

gos_jim

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 07:00:15 AM »
The rules text for Autonomous says "If the equipment provides an attack, that attack may be used once per round, as a free action, at the end of the creature's Action Phase. If the attack is a melee attack, it must follow the normal rules for guarding; however, it will not trigger a counterstrike or damage barrier, and will not remove a guard marker from its target."

Personally I think it's kind of lame that it won't remove a guard marker, because thematically you would think a floating scimitar could keep a guard busy and unable to protect their guardee from a separate attack. BUT I understand why it has to be that way for balance. Otherwise Dancing Scimitar would have to be costed higher and I like it where it is.

FrostWolf1023

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Banana Stickers 0
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 09:14:43 AM »
ok thanks i didnt see where it specifically mentioned damage barriers

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2013, 09:51:38 AM »
Good call gos_Jim, and yes we did it primarily for balance.  However, there is a little "flavor/theme" to the decision:  

The Scimitar is almost like a ranged attack, in that it is floating off by itself, making an attack on its own, and that is why it does not trigger a damage barrier or counterstrike.

Ranged attacks do not remove a guard marker because they lack creature presence and engagement. When a creature makes a melee attack, its body interposes the other creature's direction of movement, and the size/presence and active continuous engagement is what will remove a guard.

It is the creature presence, more so than the attack itself, that takes guards out.  A crossbow bolt hurts, but won't deter a guard (unless it stuns him or kills him).  But a big Orc standing in front of the guard ties him up while the other Orcs go around.

Yes, you could say the Scimitar has some presence to it of course, but its not quite the same as a creature.  We looked at as the Sword flies out to strike and then comes back again, and there is no active engagement.

Mage Wars has been challenging to design in that we try to have a realistic simulation while also maintaining balance.

gos_jim

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2013, 12:04:03 PM »
What about Reverse Attack, how does the scimitar interact with that? From a strict reading it looks like the Dancing Scimitar will trigger the Reverse Attack, but not let the defending mage attack with it. So you would most likely want to just reveal Reverse Attack without paying the cost. Is this correct?

Drealin

  • Full Mage
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2013, 03:54:28 PM »
I would say yes, because the Dancing Scimitar is making the attack, Reverse Attack would make it attack itself, and since it doesn't have health nothing would happen.
Although, since it activates via the Mage it is attached to, you could argue that the Scimitar would attack the Mage.

paradox22

  • Sr. Mage
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • Banana Stickers 3
    • View Profile
    • MOKAN Mage Wars
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2013, 01:24:55 AM »
Reverse attack would have no effect.  page 14 of the new FAQ under dancing scimitar.
Si vis pacem para bellum

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2013, 09:52:21 AM »
We have to thank Drealin for this!  It was not in the FAQ, we discussed it and decided his answer was solid so we included it.

gos_jim

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2013, 10:09:53 AM »
But just to be perfectly clear, the Reverse Attack would HAVE to be revealed against the Dancing Scimitar because it IS an attack. So it would be revealed and destroyed. Correct?

Arcanus

  • Administrator
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • Banana Stickers 2
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2013, 10:19:41 AM »
Yes, which makes it pretty useful for triggering Block/Reverse Attack.

In one sense that is kind of flavorful;: "Oh hell no I'm not using my Thunderbolt on that Mage! First, let me send over the Dancing Scimitar to tap him on the shoulder!".

gos_jim

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2013, 10:50:50 AM »
Unfortunately the Dancing Scimitar attack has to be used at the END of your action phase (right?) so you couldn't Thunderbolt them the same round, but you could certainly get rid of it to pave the way for a quick cast attack or one of your creatures.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2013, 12:34:56 PM »
You could save your Quickcast Action till the end......
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest

gos_jim

  • New Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Banana Stickers 1
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2013, 12:51:38 PM »
But Thunderbolt is a full action spell. So yeah you could Lightning Bolt them using your Quickcast Marker.

DarthDadaD20

  • Dark Father of Random Occurrence/TeamRocket Grunt
  • Legendary Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
  • Banana Stickers 14
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2013, 12:53:43 PM »
Quote from: "sIKE" post=8692
You could save your Quickcast Action till the end......

I think he is referring to Thunderbolt being a Full round action to cast.
Edit: Beat me to it Gos_jim....you beat me to it. (Now I know how Gewar feels!)
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
It has been around since the dawn of time,
it follows your loved ones as well as mine,
takes the form of a mountain as well as a flower,
it cannot be outrun by the greatest of power.
Where does my greatest enemy lie?
Within Shad0w.

sIKE

  • Playtester
  • Legendary Mage
  • *
  • Posts: 4172
  • Banana Stickers 18
  • Ugh
    • View Profile
Re: do attacks using dancing scimitars
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2013, 01:33:27 PM »
Sorry didnt have my cards in front of me, but you could use your very mana effecient Force Hammer......
  • Favourite Mage: Malakai Priest